C3 Question Time Conference 2020

C3 Question Time Conference 2020


Tuesday 11 February 2020

I am very pleased to share the launching of our very first ‘Choices, Chances, Changes’ – Question Time conference, with our first fitting theme of ‘Our Future’.

This conference has been organised to support young people (in Year 11 and Sixth Form) in making positive changes in all aspects of society. Our audience included guests from different schools in London and it was wonderful that we were able to provide a platform for young people to get together and engage in such pivotal matters. The conference was opened by Miss Mizan and Mr Goy with the remainder of the conference being facilitated and introduced by students of A-Level Politics. We heard from 4 fantastic guest speakers and had a special closing speech from Jephta Asamoah – our very own alumnus student who is currently studying Economics and Politics at university and is an advocate of the deaf community. The conference included a Question Time segment where our guest speakers were able to answer questions from the audience, covering a range of topics such as crime rates, equality, Brexit, international relations, mental health and opportunities for youth. Our guest speakers included: RT Hons Stuart Lawrence (motivational speaker and brother of Stephen Lawrence), Farzana Khan (Director of Healing Justice), Dr James Strong (Senior Lecturer at QMUL) and Christine Whetstone (Amnesty International Speaker).

Guest students from other schools also took to the stage to deliver a speech, followed by speeches from Eastbury’s very own sixth form students. Topics of student speeches included censorship of media, knife crime, mental health, action through the arts and other progressive solutions for young people to make positive changes. The conference closed with a wonderful musical performance from two of our Politics students.

Students who were a part of this conference have been working very hard and have worked above and beyond in recent weeks to ensure that our first conference is successful. We had a very good turnout on the evening and feedback from both speakers and guests have been extremely positive. All funds raised from this conference were for the Teenage Cancer Trust, and we raised over £600!

Miss Mizan would like to say a very big well done to the following students for their dedication and hard work:
Year 13 Politics students: Mariana Bongou, Alicia Adu-Mensah, Tasmiyah Hussain, Madiha Begum and George Smith.

Year 12 Politics students: Batool Haider, Jasman Dhillon, Mustafa Uyanik, Naifin Issa, Emilija Jackeviciute, Fija Khan, Norah Marie Rose, Aisha Nassor, Wahida Quayum, Valentina Syla, Maliha Tasnim and Fjorda Zanaj.
Year 11 students: Nataanman, Elliot, Farhaan and Aric.

On behalf of the students too, Miss Mizan would also like to give a big thanks to the following staff for their support: Mr Goy, Mr Cain, Mrs Kowo, Ms Pyke, Ms Murray, Ms Vincent, Ms Owusu-Attafuah and John (JJ).

Thank you.

Miss T. Mizan