EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a curriculum for children from birth to five. We follow the curriculum in Nursery and Reception - it is based on 4 principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

Each child learns skills, acquires new knowledge and demonstrates their understanding through
seven areas of learning and development.
The three Prime Areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development.

As the children develop, the Prime Areas help them to increase their skills in the four Specific
Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Maths - Our aim is to teach Maths lessons which are stimulating and enable children to feel positive about the learning that is taking place. Therefore, we ensure children have access to Maths learning in many different ways. In the Early Years Foundation Stage, children are taught numbers, shape, space and measure.  They are encouraged to explore these areas through nursery rhymes, stories, role-play and a range of practical activities, in both the indoor and outdoor learning environments. Quality provision in Maths is provided and child initiated play is observed and supported by staff in order to move pupils on immediately.
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In the Eastbury Community School Primary Phase, pupils will develop their knowledge and skills through learning opportunities which are planned by their teachers. The EYFS encourages schools and parents to work together in order to enable children develop to their full potential. Our EYFS Curriculum will also support our pupils’ spiritual, moral and cultural development. The personal development of children plays a significant part in their ability to learn and achieve.

If you require any further information regarding EYFS curriculum, please contact  (ped@eastbury.bardaglea.org.uk)